HELLO, I’m Mimi

A Chat With Mimi

Somewhere, on the borders of Setagaya and Meguro wards in Tokyo, lives a half-Japanese and American woman who is creeping into her mid-30s. She’s been living here a long time.
“Since 2009,” she’ll answer when asked.
What brought you to Japan?
“Well, I was always interested in Japanese culture since it was a part of me growing up. So I made the effort to learn the language and find a job here. But, then I became a mother, and staying at home I got a bit bored. Before, I was tour guiding and taking photography of my clients. It was starting to take off, and I always wanted to go back. In the meantime, though, I discovered embroidery.”
Mimi always admired embroidery, and she did love the hoops.
“No offense to hoop embroiderers, I just wanted to make something more…”
Useful?
“(laughs) Well, more… accessible. I love looking at hoop embroidery art, but personally I can’t imagine owning a piece and hanging it on my wall. I love the techniques and the ideas people are making, though.”
With that, she discovered a new form of embroidery not many others were doing or even selling.
“When I was touring, I found out that you have to fill in a gap, because the market is already so saturated. You need to give something that other tour guides aren’t so you stand out, which is why I decided to also take engagement style portraits of my clients while they toured with me. They would get an amazing tour, but they would also get amazing memories they can keep forever from it. Embroidery and fashion in general is already a very saturated market. I wanted to try embroidery, but I didn’t see the appeal of keeping a piece at home and not showing it off some how.”
So what did you do?
“A friend was visiting Tokyo from Portland. She mentioned she discovered darning and was looking for a book on it. So I took her to T-Site, a book shop in Daikanyama, Tokyo. She found the book, and I actually liked the idea too. Right next to it was a book about 3D felt embroidery. I bought it, thinking, ‘Ok, I can try this. My daughter can wear my hair creations when she has more hair. (laughs) She was almost bald, but I was getting a bit tired of looking at my screen every time she was napping. I wanted to spend my time doing something else.”
Mimi pulls out her first creation.

Screen Shot 2019-06-16 at 9.14.01 PM

Mimi Hana’s first ever 3D embroidery project

“I actually have come to not like it as much as my later projects… It’s too chunky.”
Can you tell me about the creation process here?
“Sure. So first you have a pattern, and just like sewing, you trace the pattern onto the fabric, in this case felt. Then you have to attach a wire around it so you can shape it. After that, you can color in the felt with embroidery floss.”
What went wrong with your first one? I think it looks nice.
“Haha, you’re kind.. but the wire I chose was too fat. So the curves are too fat. There isn’t any delicate detailing. Also, the color felt I chose was green instead of pink for the pansy. I should have chosen pink! Sometimes you can see the green felt come through.”
So is this for sale?
“No way! I can’t sell this one. I can sell these though.”
She pulls out a couple more pansies she made.

P1270936

Mimi Hana’s pansies and violas after a few more months of experience

I understand now. With the thinner wire, you could create more curves in the design.
“That’s right. I like how these turned out way better. And no green felt…”
When did this all begin?
“December of 2018.”
That early?!
“Yea, and I still want to improve. There are other flowers I want to try to make.”
When did you decide, ‘I think I can sell these!’
“Not too long after my friend visited, my parents came over in January. My mom saw what I was doing and said, ‘You could sell these on Etsy!'”
So you did?
“So I did.”
Though selling on Etsy isn’t easy. Even with Mimi’s different take on embroidery and what it can be, it’s hard to get noticed. Etsy’s algorithm is heavily based on SEO, how many people have rated your shop and bought your product. Many start and end up owing Etsy more money than they can make on it.
“I try to be frugal about it when it comes to Etsy… I am not good with SEO at all, and many users complain that Etsy just keeps changing who gets more attention than others. One day, one shop will be making a whole ton of sales for months. Then for no reason it suddenly gets quiet.  I haven’t really been busy enough yet. I’ve made eight sales since I started. But hopefully I won’t get too busy!”
Why not?
“Because these pieces, though I love them, take a very long time to make. The pansies can take me anywhere from 4-6 hours to make just one. Plus being a mother, I do have other priorities. My time is a bit limited.”
How about this one? The Venus fly trap?

MikoModel-1-2.jpg

Mimi’s first original design, a Venus fly trap ear cuff.

“I love this one! This one took me maybe more than 12 hours to make. I think it was because I was designing it as I went along. I really wanted to make something with this plant. I also wanted people to know that it actually flowers. So I incorporated it into the design. Did you know that the flower is a good 12 inches away from the traps so the pollinators don’t get eaten? That’s so cunning.”
Has anyone bought this yet?
“No… maybe it’s a bit too out there for most. I like it. Also the trap opens.”
Mimi shows how it looks.

MikoModel-4

The Venus fly trap ear cuff as it’s opened.

“So depending on the wearer’s mood or look, she can decided on how to wear it.”
Maybe put a fly in there?
“(laughs) Sure!”
We dive more into other topics. Mimi explains that she hopes she can gain some attention for 3D felt embroidery, but she’s hoping not to become viral.
“If that happens, then I don’t know what I would do… charge what I really want to charge? I am holding back a bit… Or hire people to help me embroider? I can’t imagine making 10 orders or even 50 a week! Oh no!”
Maybe there would have to be a waitlist?
“At first… but I’m not there yet. Let’s talk about this if it happens. (laughs)”
For now one order a week is good.
“Yes, let’s keep it steady but not overwhelming. Phew!”

Mimi stands up and graciously thanks me for my time with a wide smile.
“You can come back any time, really. Have some more coffee, or join me for an embroidery session.” She grins, and passes me her business card. I will definitely be back next week.

Mimi Hana Threads business card

The “E” is for Etsy and the “M” is for Minne, Japan’s version of Etsy.

Leave a comment